top of page

The Harpa - My Favorite Place in Reykjavik!

View of the Reykjavik Harbor from inside the Harpa

The Harpa - an architectural wonder sitting in the harbor of Reykjavik is quite eye-catching. Geometric in shape with LED lights that make it glow at night, it’s stunning to see from a distance. I couldn’t help but feel drawn to this beauty from the moment I saw it.

Now, I’m a sucker for architecture, and that is one reason, despite not being religious, I will visit any church or cathedral I can find. But the Harpa is neither a church nor cathedral, but visiting was like a religious experience in its own rite (or at least it was to me).

The first time I saw the Harpa, it was glowing purple in the distance at night and I was mesmerized! The next day, my family took a walk down there and went inside. We couldn’t really figure out what it was at first. There was a gift shop that sold artistic-looking items and looked like it belonged in a museum. Then we went upstairs and saw several conference rooms on one side and a bar and restaurant on the other side of the top floor. After a while, we found out it it’s main function is a concert hall and the Airwaves music festival hosts shows there every October.

One evening, I went to the Harpa by myself and could hear some music faintly in the distance. I walked towards the windows on the first floor closest to the water and the music became louder. I saw a door, opened it, and walked into someone’s box. So I just stood there in the back for a few moments to listen to the concert going on stage. The acoustics were incredible and I was now more impressed with this building! I walked out of the box before anyone could catch me. Later on, this younger guy I spoke to did the same after I told him what I did and was caught. Oops!

I came back to the Harpa many more times during my visit, and one of those times was with my sister and her boyfriend at night. We sat in the lounge area inside the restaurant upstairs to have drinks. Since drinks were pricey, we had only one each, but the drinks were excellent. I would love to come back and actually have dinner here.

The Harpa is one of my favorite buildings in the world, not only for its artistic architectural integrity, but for its multi-purpose nature - a place where you can see a concert, hold a conference, shop, eat. drink, and hang out, all with a rock star view of the Reykjavik harbor! I urge anyone who goes to Iceland to explore the Harpa, go to a show, have dinner, have a memorable night out…

Comentarios


bottom of page