top of page

Being an Opportunistic Traveler


Hi, my name is Melissa and I am an opportunistic traveler. What does that mean exactly? Well, I am going to tell you!

Any time I see an opportunity to travel, I take it! I become a “yes man” (or woman) when it comes to these opportunities that pop up. My friend is going on a road trip? I will join him/her. My relative is going on a business trip? I will invite myself along. Someone I know is going on vacation overseas? I am going to join.

So being an opportunist means you see an opportunity and take it. Travel is one of the only things I am an opportunist for in life and have invited myself on so many trips. The worst someone can say is “no,” right? But I also pride myself on being a great travel companion - I am easygoing, do tons of research before the trip, and also help with the trip planning - something I love to do!

The first time I remember doing this was several years ago in my early 20s. It was a month or so before Thanksgiving and one of my work friends was talking about how he was going to Ireland by himself. So, naturally, I asked if he wanted some company. He agreed. All I had to do was buy my plane ticket, then we would split the cost of the hotel, which he had already booked. It was a win-win situation since he could save money on the hotel and I could go to Ireland with a friend! Ireland was a great place to visit for my first transatlantic journey as well.

Getting closer to 30, a friend of mine had mentioned he went to Japan by himself for his 30th birthday and that it was one of the best things he has ever done. I thought that was an amazing idea, but a lot of my friends at the time just didn’t travel, whether they couldn’t take time off work or afford it. In this case, I thought my dad may be a great person to go with since he loves to travel. Well, I asked him and he said “maybe,” and we left it at that. But the thought of going to Japan sat with me. Then one day about a month later, my dad called me with some news. “You know how you asked me to go to Japan with you?" he asked. "Well, my work is sending me there for a week in October.”

Without even thinking, I shouted, “I’m going with you!” And he agreed I could come along just as long as I paid for my own flight, which I did. Best thing was, that was a relatively cheap vacation as the hotel was covered since I was sharing with my dad and the Japanese businessmen he was dealing with invited me to everything, including all dinners and day tours in Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto. It was an amazing trip!

Most recently, one of my close relatives invited me on a business trip to the French Riviera, which she was extending to explore some other areas after the business part was finished. So I naturally said yes and will write about it soon.

To be an opportunistic traveler, say yes to as many opportunities to travel as possible, whether someone invites you or if you ask to go/invite yourself. Doing this has helped me travel to more so many more places than I have ever dreamed of going, and with the people I care about most!

Comments


bottom of page